Charity logo

Canada's Women's U20 Rugby Team

Registered Name: CANADIAN RUGBY UNION/FEDERATION CANADIENNE DE RUGBY

Business No: 125240366RR0001

Canada's Women's U20 Rugby Team

Canada’s U20 Women’s Rugby Team will play England, Wales and the USA this July in Cardiff for the first ever Women’s U20 Transatlantic Quad Series, with 30 players named to a roster led by Head Coach Dean Murten.

An expanded squad of 32 players will train in Smiths Falls, Ontario from July 3 to 9 prior to the selected squad of 30 players travelling to Wales. Canada will open against the United States on July 14 at 9:30am PT / 12:30pm ET at Cardiff Metropolitan University before meeting England on July 19 at 9:30am PT / 12:30pm ET and hosts Wales on July 24 at 11:30am PT / 2:30pm ET, both at Cardiff Arms Park.

“We are greatly looking forward to working with this group of players as they continue their development along the high performance pathway,” said Murten. “Last summer the U20 women’s program officially relaunched with two valuable test matches against the USA and Wales, and we are confident that our programming this summer will once again provide an elite training and competition experience and challenge our players as they continue their development both on and off the pitch. These players have put in a great amount of work with their club and university teams, and will now get to transfer their skills to an international setting.”

Selection of the squad was informed by player identification conducted the U19 Canadian Rugby Championships, nominations through U SPORT, and previous involvement along the high performance pathway.

Six players return from Canada’s 2023 U20 Women’s Rugby Team that took on the USA and Wales in Ottawa alongside the 2023 Pacific Four Series. The roster also features eight players from Canada’s silver medal Trinbago 2023 Commonwealth Youth Games U18 women’s sevens squad.