Shadbolt Foundation


Business Number: 119238848RR0001

The Foundation supports an annual awards programme created and financed by Jack and Doris Shadbolt in 1988 as a “contribution to the advancement of the visual arts in British Columbia and their appreciation by the public,” and administers the Alvin Balkind Curator’s Prize.

Awards of 12,000 dollars each, called the VIVA Awards, have been granted to mid-career artists, chosen for outstanding achievement and commitment by an independent jury. Every fifth year an Honour Award of 50,000 dollars was granted to a person who has had a sustained, historically significant influence on the visual arts in British Columbia. The awards are presented at invitational receptions and publicized in the media. Since its inception, 45 VIVA Awards and 3 Honour Awards have been realized.

With the establishment of the biannual Alvin Balkind Curator’s Prize in 2013, one VIVA Award is granted the same year as the Balkind Prize is awarded and in alternate years, when there is no Balkind Prize, two artists receive VIVA Awards.

The Alvin Balkind Curator’s Prize is a biannual award set up in memory of Alvin Balkind to recognize excellence in the field of curating in the visual arts. The prize awards the recipient $12,000. Awarded in association with the Audain Prize and VIVA Awards, it is managed by The Shadbolt Foundation.

The foundation is operated by a board of non-remunerated trustees whose function is to monitor the foundation’s policy, programming and financing in relation to the changing needs of the art community, and to see that the policy is carried out in such a way as to keep alive the intention and spirit of Founders, Jack and Doris Shadbolt.

Present members are: Daina Augaitis, Greg Bellerby, Laing Brown, Aaron Sadovnick, Melanie O’Brian, Scott Watson; and Janice Whitehead, secretary.

Find Out More About This Charity